Inside Look

Two EKU faculty honored by Kentucky Communication Association

Dr. John Fitch, Erin Giles, Abra Endsley and Dr. Amy Thieme

Two members of the Eastern Kentucky University Department of Communication faculty were recognized with awards at the 88th annual meeting of the Kentucky Communication Association at Lake Barkley State Park Sept. 19-21.

Dr. Amy Thieme, associate professor of Communication Studies, was presented the Excellence in the Art of Teaching Award and Dr. John Fitch III, professor of Broadcasting and Electronic Media/Film Techniques and Technology, was recognized with the Excellence in the Practice of the Communication Arts Award.

EPMN hosts Homecoming interview with Hall of Fame Coach Roy Kidd and Marla Ridenour, first Eastern Progress female sports editor, alumni award winner

Hall of Fame Coach Roy Kidd and Marla Ridenour,

Marla Ridenour, the first female sports editor at EKU’s independent student newspaper, The Eastern Progress, sat down for an interview with Coach Roy Kidd in the new football facilities during Homecoming weekend. Conducting the interview were current Eastern Progress Media Network sports editor Zachary Combest and video staff James Mason and Joseph Steele.

Ridenour was also honored that weekend at the J.W. “Spider” Thurman Alumni Awards and Pioneer Celebration with the Professional Achievement Award.

Krista Kimmel elected to a three-year term as secretary and executive council member of the Kentucky Communication Association

Krista Kimmel

Department of Communication Senior Lecturer Krista Kimmel was elected to a three-year term as secretary and executive council member of the Kentucky Communication Association during the organization’s 88th annual meeting Sept. 19-21 at Lake Barkley State Resort Park.

EKU SPJ Wins Program of the Year

EKU faculty, staff and students at the Memorial for International Journalists
The Society of Professional Journalists has named Eastern Kentucky University’s student chapter as the winner of the Campus Program of the Year award. The national award recognizes EKU SPJ’s most recent First Amendment Week program, titled “Guardians and the War on Truth,” which took place in April. 

New Alum Lands TV Job

Madison Pergrem

College graduates dream of finding success while pursuing their passion.  For Madison Pergrem, a recent graduate of Eastern Kentucky University, that meant working at a job where she would face new and exciting challenges each day. 

Kentucky’s student journalists honored at annual press conference

Eastern Progress staff show off awards earned at the 150th annual KPA Convention

Eastern Progress staff take home reporting awards

LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- Student journalists from around Kentucky, including staffers of Eastern Kentucky University’s Eastern Progress, were recognized at Kentucky Press Association conference as the organization’s Most Valuable Members.

Faculty Artwork Inspires Teaching Innovation at FCT&L

EKU Art Chair, Professor Ida Kumoji-Ankrah

As a trans-national graphic designer, Professor Ida Kumoji-Ankrah, chair of the 

EKU Public Relations Program recertified in PR Education by PRSA

Dr. Jim Gleason, Mikayla Estepp, and Kathy Previs

The Eastern Kentucky University Public Relations major in the Department of Communication has once again earned its Certification in Education for Public Relations administered by the Public Relations Society of America Educational Affairs.

EKU is the second-longest university in the world to hold this distinction. Only forty programs worldwide are certified, with 34 of them being in the United States.

Chloe Rojas Earns OVC Top Academic/Athletic Honor

Chloe Rojas

The highest Ohio Valley Conference individual academic/athletic honor was awarded to Eastern Kentucky University senior volleyball student-athlete Chloe Rojas, the league announced today from its Brentwood, Tennessee, headquarters.

Rojas is one of six individuals to receive the prestigious OVC Scholar-Athlete Award for 2017-18. The St. Charles, Illinois, native has a 4.0 grade-point-average while majoring in journalism and Spanish.

John Strada recipient of the Kentucky Communication Association Vernon Gantt Award for Distinguished Service

John Strada, recipient of the KY Communication Asso. Vernon Gantt Award

John Strada, a senior lecturer in the communication studies program in the Department of Communication at Eastern Kentucky University, was presented the Vernon Gantt Award for Distinguished Service by the Kentucky Communication Association during the organization’s 87th annual meeting at Jenny Wiley State Park in September